The Whelping Box

River in Whelping Box 2 Aug 30 2009River in Whelping Box Aug 30 2009River Sleeping in Whelping Box Aug 30 2009

Yesterday we set the whelping box up in our office and I started collecting the items needed for the big day, or I should say the big night since I’m sure we’ll be whelping late at night. I put in some bath mats and blankets that River’s slept on previously and thus have her scent on so the box will smell like her. This morning I put River in the box, while I checked some email and she relaxed and took a short nap. I’ll do this several times a day over the next 2 weeks in the hope that she’ll  be more comfortable whelping there.  As we get closer, I’ll remove the blankets and place a shower curtain down with whelping pads on top to make clean up easier. I’ll also put an ex-pen around the sides and back so I can drape a sheet over top for that den-like feel.

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away I was a registered nurse (Intensive Care).  Despite having never wanted children, one of my favorite nursing courses was the obstetrical class and I enjoyed it because I’d never seen babies born and we were working with healthy women for the most part.  I remember my instructor asking me if witnessing child-birth stirred the maternal instincts in me and I firmly replied “Nope.” Here’s hoping that River’s maternal instincts are intact and that my mid-wife skills serve me well.

Some friends (thanks Caye & Jan) loaned me some whelping books which I’ve read cover-to-cover, twice:

The Whelping and Rearing of Puppies: A Complete and Practical Guide by Muriel Lee

Canine Reproduction and Whelping: A Dog Breeders’ Guide by Myra Savant-Harris RN

Puppy Intensive Care: A Breeder’s Guide to Care of Newborn Puppies by Myra Savant-Harris RN

I think we are as ready as we can be.

3 thoughts on “The Whelping Box

  1. Jaz I have the clip on lamp for the whelping box. Will bring it over one day this week. Can’t wait to hear how many pups there will be.

  2. Jaz….I know you are so excited!!!!! Thanks for including me on the blog!!!! We’ll be watching!!!

  3. Jaz….I am so excited for you guys!!!! Will be watching for more updates! Good luck and kisses to the River Dawg!

Leave a Reply

